Adult Time

The 60’s, 70’s and 80’s can be summed up quickly, with perhaps later blogs on individual experiences.

I was a model child until Senior High when I discovered boys, decided I hated school and dropped out in Grade 12.  I left home, got pregnant and grew up real quick.

During the 60’s I became active in the peace movement, took conscientious objectors from California into my home, Image

marched in rallies, joined the ‘NDP’ party and protested the injustices of our society.

In the early 70’s it was Green Peace, Image

the environment, love ins, acid, hippies, another child and divorce. Image I got involved with street people and realized how lucky I was.  I had a job in a bank and two healthy children.  Most of my friends at this time were women, poor, uneducated with no family support.  They ate in soup kitchens and sold their pride to feed their children.  Again, I questioned the unjust society we were living in.

By 1979 I ended up in Edson Alberta, working for a bank.  My supervisor saw my potential (in other words, my big mouth, my determination, and my ‘fuck you’ attitude) and she suggested I apply for work at Luscar Sterco, a coal mine just outside of Edson, Alberta.  The timing was right, Companies were being legislated to hire token women in non traditional jobs.  With a little luck, lots of determination and my big mouth, I was finally hired to work in the mine.  My first position was as an oiler greaser in the maintenance plant. That was great fun.  One female, me and 25 men.  Eventually, I had an accident and I was sent down into the pit, to drive truck.  The powers that be thought this would be ‘easier on my back’….right!

Image   Yup, that’s me…after my bad fall I ended up with a serious back problem and several years later I was still working, and still fighting with Worker’s Compensation Board.  Unfortunately, I got shafted and after loosing everything, house, car, motorcycle etc. and a year on disability pension I said ‘screw you’ and in 1987 I headed North to the Yukon, one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever seen..

Image  When I came to Whitehorse in 1987 I connected with many strong, independent women and finally found a focus for my anger and frustration over injustice.  I started working for the Women’s Directorate, which enabled me to live my beliefs.  In my own small way, I was able to stay connected to my causes.  www.womensdirectorate.gov.yk.ca/

Looking back over my life, I see the circle, continuous, never ending – always expanding.  My strength to carry on the struggle comes from my beliefs in the Universe, in the Goddess, Gaia, the great Mother.  Through her, I believe that one day we will achieve balance and harmony with our environment, our society and within our relationships.

ImageAnd so we continue on into the 90’s where I put into practice all the teachings and lessons learned.  It was another huge shift for me and that’s when I had my ‘God’ experience and manifested Barbados, West Indies into my life.

People say that what we’re all seeking is a meaning for life.  I don’t think that’s what we’re really seeking.  I think that what we’re seeking is an experience of being alive, so that our life experiences on the purely physical plane will have resonances within our own innermost being and reality, so that we actually feel the rapture of being alive.

Joseph Campbell..The Power of Myth  Image

3 thoughts on “Adult Time

Leave a Reply

