The Joy of Inspiration

Inspiration, from whence it comes??inspire

 a :  a divine influence or action on a person believed to qualify him or her to receive and communicate sacred revelation
 b :  the action or power of moving the intellect or emotions
 c :  the act of influencing or suggesting opinions
d :  the quality or state of being inspired
e :  something that is inspired <a scheme that was pure inspiration>
     Today, while on my daily afternoon walk , I realized that over the last few weeks I have been hearing vague whispers in my mind. Whispers that speak of creativity, of humor, of boredom, of fear, of forgetting, of ageing. Trying to pinpoint where they have been coming from, I thought back over my last few days trying to recall conversations I may have heard or places I may have been. Anything that might help me give form to these thoughts.
     Was it during my visit to the Doctor’s office or perhaps while I was in line at the grocery store? Perhaps I read something while scrolling through Facebook or saw something while watching a movie.  Maybe it was the beauty of that big fluffy cloud or the morning mist. The list could go on for pages and pages.  Inspiration can come from anything or anywhere. A person, a place or a thing.
     It’s important for me to find meaning in the things that I do and the thoughts that I have.  Being retired is not all it’s cracked up to be.  I have a lot of free time on my hands and I need to find ways to occupy my day and I certainly don’t need to dwell in negativity worrying about ‘what’s next’.  I’ve done just about everything on my ‘Bucket List’, and have lived a life full of adventure; one most folks only dream about.  I feel like I’ve been inspired forever but the reality is that ever since I returned from Mexico last Spring, I’ve kind of dropped by the wayside and I’m just dawdling along.  Yes, I’ve been busy building a healthy lifestyle after some physical challenges, but I haven’t been doing much else.
     Well, that is about to change!  Thanks to good old Facebook, I got a message from an old friend asking me to follow her blog and it hit me like a lead balloon…yes, I actually have a blog….one I haven’t even thought about for over a year.  Why? who knows.  Lots of reasons.  I stopped jotting down my thoughts because I developed frozen shoulders but I can’t use that excuse any more.  I have 95% range of motion back and there is nothing to stop me from typing, so my new resolve is to continue with my ‘story’ that basically ended in 92′.  It doesn’t matter to me if it never gets read, but it does matter to me that I finish what I started.
     So thanks Tracey Lynn for inspiring me to go forward once more and if anyone does read this, please check out her blog at:  http://thewriterandherbear.com

She has some great stories!

Leave a Reply

